top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureManagment

Guitarrista Guitar Interview: Chris Vizcarra

"My main guitar is a Jackson Rhoads JS32 V model year 2006. Randy Rhoads is one of my inspirational artists that helped me find my own starting point in terms of tone in the world of music. This Rhoads V in particular was a gift from my parents and after 15 years has stood the test of time in both durability and tone."


"I love the smooth Gotoh tuners, when you tune they don’t slip they stay tuned. Next is the thin speed neck, by having a thin neck It gives my hand the maximum flexibility when playing chords as well as playing intricate notes."


"I worked with many types of woods in wood shop and Poplar was my preferred choice. Reason being It offers ideal sustainability and plenty of bite. I’ve noticed when performing the wood has a strong upper midrange too which was my area of focus when I play. The Bridge I have is an original double locking Floyd Rose Tremolo, it stays in tune especially after performances."

"The pickups played a big roll, My friends dad gave me a couple sets of guitar pickups that were in box & never opened. By surprise I found they were designed & made by Paul Gagon back in 1984 for Charvel and Jackson guitars. The same gentleman who made custom pickups & pedals for Steve Vai & Jeff Beck among many others. After installing them I turned on my Marshall half stack and it was just as I imagined it, that lush yet organic sound of every intricate note that made the 1980’s so memorable, was in the palm of my hands. These guitar pickups are extremely sensitive in bringing out melodies through any articulation you play such as tapping, hammer-ons, pinch harmonics and so on with ease. That was exactly what I wanted to bring out within my album."


3 views0 comments
bottom of page